Flemish urologists celebrate 50 years with the jubilee edition of the coveted Elaut prize

On Saturday, 18 June 2022, the Belgian Society of Urology (BVU) and the Urology Department at Maria Middelares General Hospital organised the Elaut Prize 2022. This event is a meeting of the top and upcoming Flemish urologists, with opportunities for networking and scientific presentations.

Prof. Karel Decaestecker, MD, chair of the BVU: ‘In 2022, the BVU celebrates 50 years of existence. We are doing that with - among other things - this special jubilee edition, in the presence of Flemish urologists, assistants and the pharmaceutical industry. The top urologists of the future brought their scientific work to the fore in their fight for the coveted Elaut prize.’

Guest Dr Filip Ameye, Department Head of the Urology Department with Maria Middelares General Hospital: ‘The participants were able to enjoy an entire day of high-quality scientific presentations and network opportunities. Over the past thirty years, the Elaut prize has grown to be the event for Flemish urologists. We offer a bird's eye view of issues within urology and a glimpse of the future of urology. We’re also proud of organising such a prestigious event on the grounds of the Maria Middelares General Hospital in Ghent.

The winners:

  • Eduard Roussel - Clinical prize (€1,000)
  • Sarah Buelens / Noémie Luyts - Scientific prize (€1,500)
  • Eva Van Bos - Clinical prize (€1,500)
  • Kim Pauwaert / Manoe Van Herwaarden - Clinical prize (€500)

A report and impression by Prof. Decaestecker, MD and Dr Ameye is available here. More information about the Elaut prize can be foundhere.

From left to right: Prof. Karel Decaestecker, MD; Dr Alexandre Peltier and Dr Filipl Ameye